Good Design® Award 2022 – Juror

Published on: 1st November 2022

The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design have once again invited our Managing Director Rob Woolston to participate as a Juror, this time for the 2022 Good Design® Awards.

GOOD DESIGN® is the world’s most prestigious, recognised, and oldest Design Awards program organized annually by The Chicago Athenaeum Museum of Architecture and Design in cooperation with the European Centre for Architecture, Art, Design and Urban Studies.

The trademarked, historic awards program was founded in Chicago in 1950 by architects: Eero Saarinen, Charles and Ray Eames and Edgar Kaufmann, Jr. and has continued now for over 70 years.

After intensive evaluation, the jury, comprising of experienced international experts from different disciplines, will select the best designed products and graphics, basing their decisions on the design quality true to the historic motto “In search of GOOD DESIGN.”

GOOD DESIGN® is the most sought-after international seal of outstanding design quality, and only the best of the best designs receive an award.

DCA are very proud to have won over forty Good Design Awards over the years, including five in 2021 – Leo Cancer Care upright radiation therapy solution, Polident dental lab ultrasonic cleaner, Sanofi AllStar® Connect, Sanofi TouStar® and Huel nutrition shaker.

“Good Design is one of the most powerful forces in our lives,” states Christian Narkiewicz-Laine, architecture critic and the Museum’s chief curator of Good Design.

“This philosophy recognizes and values the impact design has in people’s lives, understanding that design is not just about the object created, but also about the experience and how it makes us feel, think, and learn.”

DCA’s Rob Woolston says, “Good design is more important every day in striving to improve the lives of people and our interaction with the world around us. Design awards such as ‘Good Design’ that celebrate excellent and thoughtful design have a significant place in encouraging that excellent design and I am proud to once again act as a juror to support that endeavour.”

The 2022 winners will be announced towards the end of this year.